Skip to toolbar
Menu Close

Wires, Connections, and Signal Integrity

Home Forums SCTMMC Forum Wires, Connections, and Signal Integrity

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 54 total)
  • Author
    Armyadarkness
    Keymaster

As most of you know, I’m an engineer, and I dabble in a lot. One of the things that I take a ton of pride in, is my custom wires… be they for patch, instro, or speaker.

I typically use Mogami Wire and Neutrik connectors exclusively, but even with all of that, the jack on my battle bass is scratchy as Hell lately. And, since I’m wireless, there’s no cable strain, so I’m perplexed. Yes, I can easily fix it, but what about improving it?

Back in my radio-control-car days, we used to replace the generic, tin, hair-dryer connectors on our motors and batteries, with high current, heavy duty connectors. Obviously, there’s no high current at the instro jack, but it seems to be an area of regular failure, for many musicians, and it’s really an out-dated design, which as near as I can tell, is only still in use, because it’s universal, and it swivels.

These are gold contacts, don’t come apart, and I could easily make 1/4 adapters. I would simply leave a wire hanging out of the bass jack, with this connector on it. Has anyone else ever tried to overcome this weakness?

Dean's T Plug Pair (Female - Male) Battery Connectors | JSumo.com

First, whack the driver, then, off the passengers. I want everyone in the car whacked off.
    ... Al Capone

Still4strings
    Participant

Not exactly, but in my experience the worst offenders are the barrel jacks (the ones that install in the side of the bass) and the jacks that have a plastic frame.

Flush-mount Output Jack | stewmac.com

Guitar Parts Factory - Jacks

I have installed Neutrik locking jacks in a few basses and never had problem with those. They’re big and expensive, though. I had some customers who requested them.

Neutrik NJ3FP6C 1/4" Locking Chassis Jack Nickel