Menu Close

The Lemon Thread, a Division of Gibson Sucks

Home Forums SCTMMC Forum The Lemon Thread, a Division of Gibson Sucks

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 120 total)
  • Author
    Armyadarkness
    Keymaster

Other than one or two of us ever liking Thunderbird basses… I’ve never heard any musician talk nice about Gibson. In fact, even my guitar player friends, whom are hard-core SG or Les Paul players, seem to hate Gibson.

My experience with Gibson is as follows:

My first “favorite bass” was the Gibson Explorer. I can remember the precise moment in time that my drummer and I discussed the matter. It was 1983, the year that I started playing the bass. It took another 25 years and as many basses before I could find and afford one, and unfortunately, I found their tone lackluster.

However, I did find their build quality exceptional, so for about 4 years, I played Epiphone Thunderbirds and Explorers… Heck, at that time, I didn’t really know good tone anyway. Then I remember the Thunderbird Pro came out, and I anxiously awaited it hitting the stores. When it did, it was a total let down. All of the sturdy features and attention to detail that I had come to know from Epiphone, were gone. And… Its “pro” electronics were noisy and STILL sounded about as flavorful as unscented quaker oats.

So of course, I returned it, but not before first calling Gibson to find out what happened. THEY WERE COMPLETE DICKS!!!!!!!! So I asked around, “what’s the deal with Gibson”, and the response I got was “when your instruments are in the hands of the most famous musicians in the world, you don’t have to give a shit about customers”. That’s exactly how they made me feel, so I instantly sold my four Epiphone Explorers and Thunderbirds, and I never looked back.